Gold writing and background stamp on a black mailer with co-ordinating postage stamps
Get Crafting, Inspiration

Black and Gold Inspired Vintage Paper Envelopes

Sometimes I make a set of envelopes and add stamps to them which I just love over and above the usual – this is one of these sets.

Normally I make my handmade envelopes in batches. I usually make anything between about 3-10, but sometimes it’s a little more and sometimes it’s a little less. This little batch is made up of 6 envelopes and they match to a tee. They’ll be going all over the globe so I wish them well on their journey.

I used the background writing stamp from the Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Entemology collection. The insects are from that set also. The washi tape is actually from the Poundshop and was an absolute bargain. An old gardening book with very aged pages make up the little writing blocks. I used a uni paint marker 0.8-1.2mm gold marker to do all the writing. I love the black inked insects on top of the old paper – I think I will use this technique again in future.

Black and gold themed envelope
Black and gold inspired mailer with co-ordinating stamps.

The air mail sticker is a standard Royal Mail issue. I have lots of vintage air mail labels which I’ll hopefully use in future. The postage stamps are from loads of different sets. I was quite impressed that I used a whole set for one of the orders which is going Tracked and Signed. It’s the 2014 ‘Remarkable Lives’ set of 10 stamps all showing lovely black and white portraits.

Black and Gold themed envelope
Hand decorated envelope with matching black and white postage stamps. Mail art idea.

I hope these inspire you to make some beautiful mail art – I’d love to see it.

Annette x

Leave a comment